× Women Physicians

Not happy with outpatient IM. Need career advice!

More
6 years 9 months ago #88419 by vitaminng
Hi Everyone! I'm new to this forum. I found the MomMD website while starting my search on alternative, non-clinical careers for physicians. I would greatly appreciate any advice or words of wisdom!

I recently graduated from IM residency in the summer of 2012. To take a step back, as a medical student, I thought IM would be a great career path-- IM embodied "medicine" to me, and there are so many subspecialties to choose from. I had envisioned myself going into fellowship, but by the end of residency I had training fatigue, didn't love any of the subspecialties enough to stomach fellowship hours, and felt a nagging urge to start making an income so that I could pay off my hefty student debt. Furthermore, I really dislike acuity and inpatient medicine, so by process of elimination, I went down the route of outpatient medicine. In theory, I like outpatient medicine and the idea of being someone's PCP and talking with patients.

So what's the problem?

I'm 6 months into my new job and I wonder if I've made a long series of mistakes going into medicine and I don't know if I can see myself doing this for the rest of my life!

I won't say where I work, but there are a lot of pros to my job: great colleagues, I like most of my patients, great ancillary staff so that I'm able to delegate a lot of work to the MA's or RN's, zero call (our patients get admitted by hospitalists, and we have an answering service to handle phone calls), and hours on "regular" days would be something like 8am-6pm M-F.