× Women Physicians

Not happy with outpatient IM. Need career advice!

More
6 years 9 months ago #88496 by displaced
Hello! You're not alone! Check out "A Survey of America's Physicians..." by Physicians Foundation. About 60% of physicians surveyed would not recommend medicine as a career, and more than 1/3 of us would not become physicians if we had to do it all over again. That's significant and incredible!
I am currently working in a clinic with time slots and am STRESSED and have more bad days than good. And a just heard a colleague crying the other day because she was having a crappy day and they were just stacking patients up and up on her. I have also worked part-time at an urgent care center. This was low stress in that it didn't matter how long you took with patients because it was not appointment based. I also worked as a teacher. That job was stressful because of the long hours (FT+), and environment. I would probably have done best with the part time urgent care but the commute was a pain so I changed. Now I wish I had asked to work less days.
My advice is try to work part-time. This will lower your hours, stress, and work load significantly. After residency we feel that working 50-60 hours per week will probably not be a big deal (and I guess relatively that's true-ish). But it still sucks, especially after spending all that time just to get where you are.
I think doing a fellowship at this point, unless you have a burning desire, will just mean 70 hour weeks for the next three years, and then you'll be in the same position, except 30 min slots for sick patients.
I can't speak about concierge medicine, except you'll basically own your own business, which may be good or bad.
If you decide to go non-clinical, try to work out a day a week of still seeing patients to keep your foot in the door, because it can be hard to return if you're away from patients too long.