× Women Physicians

Part-time work-what is possible?

More
4 years 4 months ago #91371 by SueB
I have found part time work to work very well for me. I am in primary care (IM) and work every morning - M-F. 8 am to roughly 1:30 pm. No Holidays or weekends. Only home call - we use hospitalists. I can get the kids to school and have an hour before picking them up. Since I am a partner in our physician owned group I can set my own time off, which is fantastic. I have an army cot in my office I use when my kids are sick. Works very well. But in the beginning I had to use nannies to help - I was lucky to have two that alternated days and I had the same two for seven years. My partners have been fantastic in allowing me to do this part time without having to share my practice with another doc - so I am responsible for all pt issues throughout the day - which can get hectic when I am in "mom" mode at home or at the soccer field.

I don't think it could get any better than this and I'm extremely lucky to have such accommodating partners. Interestingly, we actually have five in our practice that are part-time since they are semi retired and sharing practices.

Ironically, I am struggling with burn out - even with this perfect situation. I want to stay home and just breathe for a while. Really concentrate on my daughter's education and lives and be a better mother and wife. I am resenting what my job takes from me - which is a lot just due to the nature of the job. Since my husband makes good money in his field (GI) I feel I have that option but I just can't take that leap. Why give up something so good? Am I crazy?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 4 months ago #91379 by clee03m
I would do it, if it was financially possible for me. I would work just enough to keep my license current though. Wouldn't want to have to deal with reentry. My two cents. Good luck with your decision!

More
4 years 4 months ago #91390 by SueB