× Women Physicians

Feeling like a failure

More
4 years 11 months ago #95379 by teddybear55
I'm new and not sure where I should post. I graduated from medical school last year, but have been unable to match into a peds residency program. I am applying again this year, but it doesn't look promising. I have 3 kids and very likely will be ending my marriage soon. I need to find a way to support my kids and also be able to pay off my student loans. I have absolutely no interest in any of the adult specialties. I know I will probably have to give up on this career at some point. I would appreciate any advice. I'm feeling very discouraged and hopeless right now.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 11 months ago #95383 by lydiasmommy
I'm so sorry you're having such a rough time. If pediatrics is not a possibility would you consider other specialties where you have to see adults during training but could limit your practice to mostly children afterwards like child psychaitry or family practice?

More
4 years 11 months ago #95384 by sahmd
Hi teddybear55, I'm sorry you are going through this. Would you be willing to share what you think made it difficult for you to match? I am just wondering if there is anything fixable. For example, if you only applied to programs in one city because of your husband's job or your children's schools, that is something that you can change by being willing to move anywhere in the US.

I hope you are not alone in supporting your kids. Will your husband be able to pay child support if you get divorced?

More
4 years 11 months ago #95393 by Call Me Dr.
Teddybear55, I'm so sorry you're going through such a rough time! Is the reason that you've been out for a year related to not matching, or due to the tough personal stuff you're going through?