× Women Physicians

Successful transition to full-time freelance writing

More
14 years 10 months ago #19802 by Victoria
Hello, I have posted before on the topic of switching to nonclinical, family-friendly positions so I thought that I would update everyone. I trained as a psychiatrist and did very well (intern of the year) so I faced a lot of opposition to leaving medicine. I have 2 small children, ages 4 and 1 and I am teaching my 4-year old at home.

For me, I realized that I could be happier by achieving my life-long dream of becoming a writer because it is family friendly and what I enjoy more than anything. I had always thought that I would do medicine (which I also enjoyed for a time) and then later in life pursue the writing.

The book "Purpose Driven Life", a Christian-based book on finding your purpose, helped me tremendously and now (1-year later) I am a full-time freelance writer.

I have a writing job with a healthcare company, I write for health-related websites and for parenting websites, my first article was accepted by a national parenting publication and I have just submitted my first book proposal for a parenting book. I also have a corporate consulting gig next week that a friend arranged for me.

I have several friends that have needed help with the transition from mom to mom MD and I have found it very gratifying to give them hope that by following your heart or that little voice inside of you you can achieve your dreams. Now I am going to start coaching more moms about how to do this.

The road has not been easy. Other posts have addressed the financial issues, identity issues and problems with unsupportive family and friends along with guilt and disappointment. I certaily faced (and continue to face) many of these issues. If you are willing to face these things, ask for help as needed and have faith, all things can work together for good.