× Women Physicians

Non Compete clause

More
13 years 9 months ago #20099 by txfp
I'm new to this, and found it by accident while researching how to leave my job.
A little about my situation: I'm in an awesome all woman practice,javascript:void(0)
Smile and have no complaints about my colleagues, or staff. My frustration is working for a hospital owned group with no control over my overhead, and continual pay cuts, with unreasonable expenses (65-70%) javascript:void(0)
MadI too have med-school loans, and am the primary source of income for my family. I have 2 kids, 3 and 1, and work a 4 day work week (and expect to make 4/5 the income of a full timer). (which I don't)
After negotiating my head off,lost plenty of sleep, gained 10 pounds, and feel miserable,javascript:void(0)
Guilty I have gotten no-where and have decided to leave. I am thinking of staying in the area, but have a noncompete that , although not iron clad, is still on my mind. I don't think I can handle a law-suit on top of all my financial stress.
Has anyone successfully negotiated the non-compete as a separation agreement? How much did it cost you?
If it's not worth fighting for, I will just move on, it sounds like urgent care may be the best answer.
Any insight would be helpful.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 years 9 months ago #20100 by Button
How restrictive is the non-compete? Is it about working a certain distance from the clinic or about taking your panal with you?

I do have 2 friends who were able to get out of their non-compete clause. But, it sounds like you are dealing with people who don't give much in negotiations. I would definitly discuss it with them though. Many employers don't like their docs leaving too pissed off as it can be hard on the clinics reputation. At least attempt to change some of the clause if possible. If it is not "iron-clad", then you might want to have your lawyer make the call for you.

Good luck!!!

More