× Women Physicians

HAVE YOU BEEN SUED?........LET'S TALK!!

More
15 years 5 months ago #21665 by **DONOTDELETE**
Okay, now I know I am bringing up a subject we all love to avoid but I would like to start a discussion about being sued. I am a young physician who is contemplating leaving medicine altogether. I feel that I was never really adequately prepared for the hostile environment that is medicine. I was always told... be a good doctor, don't make the patients mad and they will not sue you. When I was in medical school I did not see this as a problem because I had no intentions of being anything other than a good doctor and a caring person. Well, as we know today whether you did anything wrong or not has very little to do with being sued. All you really need is a bad outcome or sometimes even just an angry patient. A friend of mine (a nurse) was sued when a morbidly obese 13 year old came into the ER with abdominal pain. Before the nurse could triage her she asked to go to the restroom and promptly delivered her baby...she supposedly had no idea she was pregnant. Well, she sued the nurse because she did not give her dignitiy of person because she "made" her deliver in a restroom. We all know about these cases. Even if you get lucky and the case is dismissed you still loose. Depression, marital strain or divorce, self doubt, viewing every patient as a potential law suit.... We have all seen physicians who were sued that suddenly appeared a lot older. Sometimes it changes their entire personality.

I can imagine that some of you think I am just full of sour grapes because I have been sued. No, I have not been sued to date... but you know they have plenty of time to do so. I just think it is unreasonable for us to make a decision about a career in medicine without really knowing what it entails.