× Women Physicians

women docs and nonphysician spouses

More
14 years 7 months ago #23818 by StellaOS
I am also engaged to someone who is not in medicine at all. It doesn't bother me, nor any of my family really - except for my father. He is VERY traditional, and doesn't like that "imbalance" of incomes. I have always had problems with him, and I had a very rough time growing up because of the conflict he and I had with his controlling ways. But I finally got away from that, but I am back in that again with all of this. I am a resident in ortho surgery, and my fiancé is in real estate and he is starting his own IT company. I love the difference we have there, it is very refreshing and a great escape to come home to. Personally, all of the BS that I have heard I let it roll off of my back. I was never one to fit that "traditional" role, and I never wanted to LOL! I would just concentrate on your relationship like everyone has been saying so far; you need to make the decision about what is best for YOU. Otherwise you will look back later in your life and regret it :-( You could also try talking to your family about things, and getting across you feel about everything. Perhaps when they see how serious the both of you are and how you are not bothered by that, they might begin to feel differently. Good luck with that, I know what you are dealing with too :(

~XOStella

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 7 months ago #23819 by seasidemd

Originally posted by lilmd01:
Hi,
I just discovered this website and it is wonderful. I'm hoping to get some honest perspective/advice out there.